Bamberg in January (& Munich)

I’m heading on a beer trip to Bavaria for 5 days in mid-January with focus on Bamberg. I’ve seen a lot of good Bamberg threads in the past but can’t seem to find them now with the new forum, so I figured I’d start a new one. Since I’m a beer writer of sorts, this is sort of a work trip :slight_smile:

My rough, preliminary itinerary looks something like this:
Monday 8th: Arrive by flight to Munich at 1 pm, do a bierhalle or three, stay the night.
Tuesday 9th: Head to Freising in the morning, visit the Weihenstephan brewery for a press tour and lunch, continue to Bamberg
Wednesday 10th: Press tour of the Schlenkerla brewery, dinner at the brewery tavern
Thursday 11th: Sightseeing Bamberg and drinking beer
Friday 12th: Depart for Munich in the morning, spend the day in the city, flight back home in the evening

Apart from Schlenkerla I’ll definitely visit Spezial and Mahr’s (and probably pop by Keesman & Fässla due to their proximity to the other places). Is Café Abseits worth a visit? The reviews seem very mixed.

I might have time to venture outside of Bamberg too. Out of the better breweries around Bamberg, Hummel and Knoblach looks like the ones that are most convenient to get to by public transport. Any others to consider?

Took a quick look at bahn.com but couldn’t figure out if the prices for train tickets are fixed or if they will get higher the closer to departure I book.

I’m also wondering when I will need cash and when I can expect to be able to pay with credit card.

Any other tips for Bamberg, as well as for the shorter stays in Munich, would be greatly appreciated. :beers:

Someone correct me if I am wrong but I believe the Schlenkerla brewery is not open for tours, according to the woman at the original location when I asked 4 years ago.

Spend some time st Spezial. They had 5 or so beers on compared to 1 at Schlenkerla, and the Spezial food was excellent.