First brew - how to make it Christmassy?

Hi

My wife gave me a homebrew kit for my birthday… it’s the English best bitter version of this:
https://www.homebrewtique.com/product/basic-starter-kit/

It’s a 5 litre kit. Ideally I was thinking of Christmas-ing it up a bit so that I could give bottles to friends/family at Christmas. I have never brewed before, so really operating totally in the dark here and looking for advice at complete newbies level.

If I wanted to, say, add cinnamon/ orange/ nutmeg or other Christmas flavours to the brew, or sweeten/ strengthen it a little, how would I set about doing this, what quantities would I need and at what stage would I need to add them to the brew? Would I need to sterilise these ingredients first and if so how? Is it as simple as bunging a couple of cinnamon sticks in boiling water for a few minutes and then adding the sticks and (cooled) water at the dry hop stage?

Any (simple!) advice would be appreciated, as it’s a gift from my wife I’d really like not to bugger it up too much.

Thanks in advance for any help you more experienced folks can give me.

Cheers

Anth

1 Like

Best thing to do with spices is to soak them in vodka (or anything else that strong). Kills all the nasties and lots more flavour comes out. I tend to soak for a few days and then throw the whole lot in. Some people soak longer and then just throw the vodka in. Since it’s Christmas, I’d definitely be tempted to use brandy or rum for the soaking…

As for strengthening you just need to add more sugar! You can either buy more extract from a homebrew shop or use some other source of sugar. I’ve got a brown ale in the fermenter which we added some palm sugar to. Lots of other options though. Something like honey might be nice in a Christmas beer…

I think I may have just talked myself into making a spiced English strong ale with honey, dried fruit and brandy now.

2 Likes

Clove works sell, but VERY potent, I use maybe 4g for a finished 17-20l batch.