German Style question

I can actually write a little in German but it would be much easier for you all to use your excellent English and save us all a lot of time :wink:

There’s a brewpub in west London called Marko Paulo … I highly recommend a visit as you’ll likely pick up 10 or more ticks.

The English brewer loves his German styles and as such there’s nearly always 2 or 3 on offer and he particularly likes to brew historical recipes and sometimes extinct styles.

Last week I had a new to RB ‘Steinfurter’, Obergariges lagerbier.

So a top fermented lager I believe.

Came over as either a Helles or perhaps a festbier to me. Could also be traditional ?

What do you guys think from the naming in terms of choosing a style?

Topfermented Lagerbeer is contradictory by its name already. But a Kölsch ist actually this kind of thing.

2 Likes

Yeah, it’s a Kölsch. Only they can’t call it Kölsch.

1 Like

Didn’t taste much like a kolsch.

I’m no expert on German beers but blind tasting I’d probably have gone for a Marzen looking at my notes with a light smokey edge.

Which is why I was pondering as to whether this beer is some old style or obscure item … perhaps a traditional ale?

Same brewer did a Broyhan or two a few years back which I listed as Traditional ale.

“You just opened up an old can of worms that fosters a lot of debate on these forums. Prepare for sh!t to hit the fan soon.
To sum up the argument, modern Americans and old and new Europeans have different understandings of these terms, with Americans focusing on type of yeast and Europeans focusing on process used.”

From a non-RB 2016 post

1 Like

I added as a traditional ale until someone can give me a different spin.

I’ve done a few visits to Koln and trawled the bars and brewpubs but this tasted like no Kolsch I’ve had.