Is glassware important to you?

I was just wondering if you find glassware important when it comes to drinking/tasting beer. I usually try to drink beer from the right glassware at the right temperature, but I don’t have many beer glasses as I am new to beer drinking(I only started 1 year and a few weeks ago). I do have a glass for wheat beer , a cilindrical glass for most belgian ales etc. but there is big room for improvement in my collection. For me glassware is important but not crucial as it seems to help in keeping the foam alive. So does it matter to you if you use the corect glassware? Do you think that it is important to have a large glassware selection when it comes to serving beer? Also excuse my bad english , it is a secondary language to me :relaxed: .

2 Likes

In the US, craft beer people used to take this very seriously, but lately have stopped caring as much I feel. Bars these days seem to just use the same glass (teku, tulip or wine glass) for all styles (or giving all beers in small flight glasses). Also at a beer festival, you use what you use. Generally, I do not think the style of glass matters so much as having a glass that is the right size for a pour.

3 Likes

I do use glassware but don’t obsess over the “correct” glass for a certain style. Most of the styles I normally drink flow very nicely from a relatively tall, slim glass anyway and I like that elegant look though I don’t want easily knocked over glasses.
Glassware IS important when I travel though, because I hate to find myself at a hotel room with NO glass. Of course any glass will do in that situation so I will just go to the lobby or bar and get a pint or tumbler…

1 Like