Regions of Japan

Hello!
We are splitting different countries into regions and I was wondering if this is the best way to separate Japan into 8 regions on RateBeer?

Hokkaido
Tohoku
Kanto
Chubu
Kansai
Chugoku
Shikoku
Kyushu

I’m not an expert on Japan, but it seems like such a disservice to a country of 125 million to reduce it to eight regions instead of 47 prefectures (which, considering the US and its’ 50 states, isn’t an unprecedented level of subdivision). And perhaps I’m reading it wrong, but the eight regions seem to be more of a historical region with looser definitions as opposed to a well-defined administrative area with a strong structure. I’m happy for someone with lots of Japanese knowledge to prove me wrong, though!

I get that, just seems like so far, what we are doing, is to do regions, then further subdivision in the future? I know we’ve done it both ways though so I’m not really advocating necessarily for one way or another. But ya, in France for example, or Scotland it seems like we’re going the “less is more” route.

In the U.S. there isn’t really any recognized larger division than states. States, then counties in states.

@KyotoLefty @TimE @kansaibeerlvrs @maekchu @shoulderbroken @jc1762

Japan is already split by prefectures so going to regions is a step back…

if you must those are the generally accepted regions but within the country’s beer community everyone talks of prefectures.

Is Canada split into Maritimes, Prairies, Central Canada, West Coast and the North? The US into Plains, West, East Coast, PNW, South?

Moving backwards makes no sense to me. Japan is already split into prefectures, those are all the regions you need.

2 Likes

Makes sense. Wasn’t really sure on the specifics there.

I guess the only counterargument is that 47 is a ton. Compared to Canada or U.S., it seems to me (and I well could be wrong), that these regions are more like states, and prefectures are more like counties?

Prefectures = State/Province