The new governor elect of Maryland

What the hell is going on with you Marylanders out there?? I just checked and I’m sitting on second for MD ticks at the beginning of a Frederick brewery crawl, and the only person ahead of me is @Travlr who quit rating here…

And I live in Virginia…

I expect @sloth @beastiefan2k @maniac and the others to hang their heads in shame here…

1 Like

And @nimbleprop , a DC resident, isn’t far behind me…

Quality not quantity here, pal. Also, I am Sloth. :grin:

1 Like

rating is too much work but I am also relatively new to MD. Also, there are like 2.5 breweries I care to drink in all of Bmore. Maybe 2.5 more others in the entire state.

1 Like

What are they @beastiefan2k ??? Elder Pine, Diamondback? Maybe Peabody Heights, Black Flag? Or some of the Frederick guys? Flying Dog is still solid

1 Like

Maryland has been a bit of a tough nut for me to crack. Despite being just over the Potomac river my entire life, it’s been really, really hard for me to rate a great number of Maryland beers. I’m actually shocked I’m not in the top 10 for the state. It’s still my 3rd most rated state though.

One big hurdle was that access to breweries in MD was difficult until recently. There weren’t many breweries in the DC area until recently. Franklins being the OG, but for the longest time you’d have to go into the sticks or up to Annapolis or Baltimore to get anything. There’s a lot more local options for me now, but with a kid and then the pandemic, I think I’ve only tried a handful of beers from any of the breweries just inside or outside the beltway.

Ya, funny you don’t see MD breweries on tap even nearly as much as VA. When I first moved here in 2014 it was different–you’d see stillwater and flying dog, olivers etc all the time but Virginia still had very few decent breweries. Since then VA kind of blew up and conquered the DC scene. At least in terms of what taps you see at Pizza Paradiso, Churchkey and its subsidiaries.