Experiences with using Kveik yeast?

I’m curious to know if any of you have experiences brewing with one (or multiple) of the different Kveik yeast strains available commercially. According to some sources (MTF, HBT, etc) Kveik strains posses almost magical properties such as being able to produce finished beer within 1 week and imparting anything from smokey to citrus flavors. So far I haven’t really found too much information that I would deem reliable though. Having recently had my first Kveik and having been fairly impressed by its qualities, I am definitely looking forward to brewing one myself.

3 Likes

I have no experience with it but hope someone here does, following :stuck_out_tongue:

Never used the yeast either, but, as @derA mentioned, there is some great info on Milk the Funk, both on the wiki and if you search the forum.

1 Like

I recently brewed a beer with Sigmund’s Voss Kveik from The Yeast Bay. I fermented it hottish, over 80 degrees. It didn’t finish out particularly fast, but it was attenuative, it finished out under 1.010. As far as smokey flavors, absolutely not. I used 8lbs beechwood smoked malt in the grain bill for this beer, and barely had any smoke flavor in the finished beer. The yeast flavors I would describe as somewhat citrusy (orange notes specifically). I’m looking forward to doing more brewing with different kveik strains if I can get my hands on them.

2 Likes

Thanks for the insight! How long did it take the yeast to go down to 1.010? And what was your overall grain bill?

1 Like